Using uProduce with GDPR Patch

Summary:  This article explains how to work with uProduce after the GDPR patch is installed on versions 8.2.3 - 9.2.

Audience: XMPie customers who wish to be GDPR compliant.

Overview

The GDPR patch can be installed on uProduce 8.2.3 - 9.2.

In versions 8.2.3 - 9.1 GDPR configuration is done by Support.

In version 9.2 GDPR configuration can be done directly from the uProduce Dashboard.

uProduce Version 8.2.3 - 9.1

Once the GDPR patch is installed on your uProduce system, the following occurs:

    Automatic deletion scheduler

An automatic deletion scheduler is installed on uProduce, which is in charge of automatic deletion of personal information (uProduce data sources, job outputs and temporary storage). Deletion occurs at 2 AM of the uProduce server time. If you wish to change this default value, inform Support.

    uProduce data sources

   All local data sources that exist in the system before the upgrade are defined as permanent. This means that these data sources will not be automatically deleted from the system. If you wish certain data sources to be deleted, you will need to delete them manually, or set them as non-permanent using the XMPie uProduce Local Data Source Retention tool.

   New local data sources that are uploaded to uProduce after installation of the patch are defined as non-permanent. This means that these data sources will be automatically deleted after 30 days. If you wish certain data sources not to be deleted, set them as permanent using the XMPie uProduce Local Data Source Retention tool.
If you wish to change the 30-day default value, inform Support.
In Circle, new uploaded data sources are defined as permanent. Deletion or retrieval of citizen data will be handled in Circle.

   Remote data sources, such as SQL, are not affected by the patch and need to be handled by you.

 uStore and Circle Data sources are handled by their respective application.

    uProduce outputs

All completed jobs (completed, failed, aborted), job outputs and temporary storage that are older than 30 days are automatically deleted from the system.
If you wish to change the 30-day default value, inform Support.

uProduce Version 9.2

Once the GDPR patch is installed on your uProduce system, the following occurs:

    Automatic deletion scheduler

An automatic deletion scheduler is installed on uProduce, which is in charge of automatic deletion of personal information (uProduce data sources, job outputs and temporary storage). Deletion occurs at 2 AM. If you wish to change this default value, inform Support.

    Global Settings

Several keys exist in the Global Settings area which allow you to control GDPR settings:

   EnableGdprDsDeletion: Sets automatic deletion of local data sources. This option can be disabled.

When this option is active, all new local data sources uploaded via uProduce are defined as non-permanent. When it is disabled, all new local data sources are defined as permanent.

   EnableGdprJobDeletion: Sets automatic deletion of jobs, outputs and temporary storage. This option can be disabled.

   GdprDsExpiration: Sets the data source expiration period. The default is 30 days. This value can be configured.

   GdprJobExpiration: Sets the jobs and outputs expiration period. The default is 30 days. This value can be configured.

    uProduce data sources

   All local data sources that exist in the system before the GDPR upgrade are defined as permanent. This means that these data sources will not be automatically deleted from the system. If you wish certain data sources to be deleted, you will need to delete them manually, or set them as non-permanent in the Details page of the data source, in the uProduce Dashboard.

   New local data sources that are uploaded to uProduce after installation of the patch are defined as non-permanent. This means that these data sources will be automatically deleted after 30 days. You can configure the 30-day value using the GdprJobExpiration key. You can disable this option using the EnableGdprDsDeletion key.

If you wish certain data sources not to be deleted, set them as permanent when you upload them to the system.

   In case you upload a CPKG, its data source is uploaded as non-permanent. You can change it to permanent in the details page of the data source.

   In Circle, new uploaded data sources are defined as permanent, regardless of the EnableGdprDsDeletion setting. Deletion or retrieval of citizen data will be handled in Circle.

   Remote data sources, such as SQL, are not affected by the patch and need to be handled by you.

    uProduce outputs

All completed jobs (completed, failed, aborted), job outputs and temporary storage that are older than 30 days are automatically deleted from the system. You can change this value using the GdprJobExpiration key. You can disable this option using the EnableGdprJobDeletion key.

Created by: Osnat Ashkenazi, last updated: March 6, 2018