Working with a Document Connected to uProduce

You can perform the following management operations:

Edit rules

  1. Right-click the content object you wish to edit and click Edit Rule NG.

    For Style or Text with Style content objects, click Edit Rule instead.

  2. In the Rule Editor window, edit the rule and click OK.

  3. To save the rule on uProduce and update the plan file, select Save to Server from the Dynamic Content menu.

    The Save on XMPie Server window is displayed.

  4. Edit the document name if you wish to create a new document with this name. If you just wish to update the existing document, leave the default name.

  5. Select the document format (the default format is Adobe InDesign (*.indd).

  6. Select if you wish to upload the fonts.

  7. Click Save.

Modify a data source

It is possible to link a document saved on uProduce to a different data source.

To link a document to a different data source:

  1. In the Dynamic Content panel, click the link icon at the bottom left.

    Connectivity_Link_to_DS_icon.png

    Or, from the Dynamic Content menu, select Link to (Data Source).

    The Select Data Source window is displayed.

  2. From the Data Source list, select a data source that is already stored on uProduce or click New to upload a new data source. When clicking New, the Upload Data Source to Server window is displayed.

  3. Locate the required data source to upload it to uProduce.

    If a data source with the same name already exists, a confirmation window is displayed.

  4. Click OK to replace the existing data source or click Cancel to choose a different data source.

  5. If the fields of the selected data source do not match those of the current data source, click Relink to match the data sources as in the following example.

    Connectivity_DS_no_match_relink.png

Work with uImage packages

When connected to uProduce, a graphic content object can reference a uImage package (*.dpkg) only — not a standalone Photoshop or Illustrator template.

For the full procedure and the Advanced uImage Settings, see Defining a uImage Content Object.

Work with a document connected to a plan

When working with a uProduce document connected to a plan, you can edit the plan in uCreate Print's Rule Editor with no need to open the uPlan application. For more information, see Rule Editor.

Once you finish editing the plan, save your document on uProduce. The plan file on uProduce will be updated.